News Release: Hall of Fame 2023

January 11, 2023

Five Teams, Four Individuals to Join Manitoba Curling Hall of Fame

The Manitoba Curling Hall of Fame & Museum has announced  the 2023 Hall of Fame inductees who will be honoured at a dinner and ceremony May 7 at  Brandon’s Victoria Inn.

The 2023 Inductee class includes four western Manitoba teams and another team with western Manitoba roots. All five teams won Canadian championships. The 2023 inductee class also includes two builders and two curlers, all being recognized for a career of excellence in the sport of curling in Manitoba.

Kelly Robertson 2011 Canadian Champion, 2012 World Senior Silver Medalist team to be inducted

The teams include the 2011 Canadian Senior Champion & 2012 World Silver Medal winning Kelly Robertson (Neepawa) team along with the Canadian Masters Champion teams of Martin Bailey-2004 (Heather), Doug Armour-2005 (Souris), Ray Orr-2009 (Minnedosa), and Joyce McDougall-2011 (Brandon).

“Western Manitoba has produced many great curlers and played such an important role in Manitoba and Canadian curling with the great events hosted in Brandon and the region’s many curling clubs,” says MCHoF&M President Peter Nicholls.

“It is appropriate for us to honour five of those teams close to home so their friends, fans and families can be there to celebrate with them and we are pleased to be holding only our second ever induction ceremony in Brandon.

The individual inductees include Builder Dave Petursson, who officiated many provincial, Canadian & World events in Brandon; Builder Bob Flock, a Police Curling leader and competitor; and Curlers Ruth Wiebe and Doug Harrison who are included in recognition of long careers of competitive excellence.

The Manitoba Curling Hall of Fame dinner was previously held in Brandon in 1995, in conjunction with the World Championships. Details of the May 7 dinner are still being finalized. Tickets will be available through the CurlManitoba office.